All About Me

I'm Rachel.

I'm a 25-year-old Northern California girl just trying to make her way through this big ol' confusing world.  I'm a pretty big weirdo and I don't take myself seriously.  At all.  I have many hobbies, but I'm most passionate about fitness.

I have two amazing dogs.  Milo the 6-year-old beagle and Moe the probably-close-to-4-year old tiny mutt.  They are the lights of my life and are always there when I need a cuddle.  Each one has their own strange personality and I am one of those annoying people who think of their dogs as their babies. If you don't like my dogs, we probably can't be friends.

My family is hugely important to me.  My mom is one of my very best friends.  My dad is my main role model and I attribute much of my physical fitness love to him.  My brother is absolutely amazing.  I have a half sister who is wonderful and two step-sisters who are fantastic.  My step mom is pretty cool too.

My obsession with fitness began in the fall of 2007 when I was required by a class to complete a "fitness journal" in order to get an A.  I had already began eating better, but getting me to exercise was like pulling teeth, not easy and very painful.  I began by walking at least 30 minutes a day.  That walking led to running and that running led to a gym membership.  For the first year or four, my fitness was mostly focused on cardio.  I ran.  A lot.  We're talking 7 miles a day.  And I dropped a few pounds.  And by a few, I mean 30.

In the fall of 2011, I realized I needed to add some strength training into my regime if I wanted to get the results I wanted.  So, I began going to a circuit class.  There, I met the best person imaginable, my workout buddy who constantly motivates me and is the voice in the back of my head even when she isn't around.  I began lifting heavy things and I fell madly in love with iron.  I still have a love relationship with running and that is my go-to exercise when I need to think, but I also adore moving weights around.  As of right now, I can squat 155, deadlift 180, OHP 65, and bench press 95.  I have been running 25-30 miles per week.  My workout partner forced me to sign up for some longer races and I've fallen in love.  I ran my first half marathon in May 2013, and I am hooked on 13.1!  I cannot imagine my life without fitness now.  It definitely holds a top priority in my life.

Okay, I think you get it.  I really love exercise.  I also really love nutrition and cooking healthy meals.  I love hiking and being outside in the fresh air.  I love my job.  I will be going back to school next year to get my Mild to moderate/moderate to severe teaching credential.  I have worked in a Special Day Classroom since 2007 and I am thankful every single day that I am lucky enough to have a job that doesn't feel like work.  I love to read and write.  I have a slight addiction to reading fitness blogs.  I love shoes.  I love designer jeans that I find in thrift stores for $10.  I love sarcasm and the people who understand mine.  I love my friends who put up with me even though I'm completely neurotic sometimes.  I love psychology and I graduated with a degree in it in May 2011.  I love laughing.  I just love life in general.  But mostly, I love being Rachel.  I love who I am and I love where I am going.

Enjoy reading my blog and getting to know me better.

No comments:

Post a Comment